Under the Arch To Follow my Mother.

So yesterday was Mother’s day. I woke up and made my mother brunch with my sister, and we actually made some pretty delicious stuff, including a fruit and yogurt parfait using coconut milk (#teamvegan), and a sweet potato hash that used maple syrup and almond milk (pulls out pom poms and cheers for veganism) and an apple for me! I also made a huge frittata for everyone else in my house – I did not have that, obviously – and some Brazilian Pao de Queijo (I opted out again), and a zucchini bread muffin that I literally went to the grocery store for exclusively. Everyone else was stuffed by the frittata I made, so I actually ended up taking the sweet potato hash from my brother and mom (MWAH HA HA that was actually my suspicion).

         The final product pre-foodfest

My mom’s plate, with my freestyles frittata and maple sweet potato hash and our cards


My parfait and apple…

We went to Agora later, where I found out they sell Sinful Bakery’s vegan cookies and now regret not getting one, and where I got the saddest chamomile tea that tasted more like a foot and what I imagine a poisonous mushroom in SuperMario tastes like than a sweet and soothing herb, and we ended up getting some crepes later, at Sweet Paris (strongly recommend if you’re in the H-town area). I ate mine too fast to save a picture, but it was the vegan crepe!


My subpar tea

We stopped at Rice University, where I found a glorious archway that had so much depth that I couldn’t handle it, and my sister kindly took these pictures. Maybe its the amateur photographer in me, but look at that archway and it’s shadows! Look at it! Architecture man.

I’d also like to note that while I hate the color pink, my sister gave me this scarf and the pattern has grown on me. So while the color is questionable in my book, the pattern itself is really nice. Also, in some lighting – in very very generous lighting- I look somewhat tanner, which is nice.

 

mothersday
my face, 90% of the time, and most likely more than that.
Wearing:

Top/ H&M … Scarf/Gift… Shorts/Gap… Belt/AE… Sandals/Nine West

mothersday2
Whenever they tell me to “smile softly,” I kind of laugh at those comments and end up half smirking. Exhibit A.  
Also, don’t be fooled into thinking that the title of this post requires some deep level of literary/cinematic/Spongebob knowledge. I literally walked under this arch following my mom, taking creepy stalker style photos as our family walked around Rice campus.

Which isn’t to take away from the bigger picture of the day. My mother is a fabulous, stylish, classy lady with a good sense of humor and a signature hairstyle who never has a hair out of place or a doubt in herself. I spared her a cameo today because like I said before, my pictures were seriously creepy. As in, she’s walking and I snapped a photo that I accidentally zoomed too much on, so it’s a photo of her hair alongside a tree branch.

Brace yourselves. More style posts are coming.

Talk to Me

