Vegan Chia Breakfast Bowls 

It’s been a while, but to sum it up for you, it’s been 

Rainy

Muggy

Humid 

Grey 

And if you are a fashion blogger, you know that means pictures are out of the question. So I’ve been waiting and watching forecasts but it’s not looking good. I felt the flow of creativity slow down a bit (more like a lot) and I was a bit annoyed. 
Then I looked down at my breakfast this morning and realized how much I love making it everyday. I normally alternate between porridge and granola, but I bought some chia a few weeks ago and immediately added it to my routine, throwing it in everything possible. Here’s the most common iteration: the breakfast bowl. I leave the chia seeds to soak overnight and throw the toppings together in seconds the morning after, changing them up every time.

What to do:

Add 2 tablespoons of chia to a bowl. (I add around 2.5) 

Then add around a cup of the plant milk of your choice (I use cashew, and then add a shot of water to avoid it becoming too thick a paste).

Cover it and put it in the refrigerator overnight, or if in the early morning, you can wait around 20 minutes for it to thicken a bit, although I’d still recommend putting it in the fridge for the best results and waiting as long as possible. 

TOPPINGS – aka the best part when you actually feel like you’re making something awesome and you can raid your pantry for anything topping-like.

  1. I like to use pumpkin seeds for another bit of protein, and granola, sometimes sprinkling cinnamon over all of it.
  2. I chop fruit sometimes and place that on one side and then added unsweetened coconut yogurt on the other side to add variety to the texture of the bowl. 
  3. I’ve seen the fancy schmancy vegans on Instagram go all out and go to extreme lengths to make their bowls more visually appealing by drizzling melted cacao nibs over the entire thing, or using goji berries on one side and funky exotic fruits as well and making it symmetrical. All I have to say is, if the bowl tastes good to you, it’ll be fine. If you hate cacao nibs don’t add them. I’m pretty basic and straightforward and don’t like super sugary foods, so I won’t be going out of my way to add anything super weird like algae to my bowl (although algae is a number one in my book if it’s in kombucha). 

And now some amateur pictures of my food! Where I forced myself to wait before devouring my food to take pictures of it. Because what’s a food post without pictures??? 

Up close of chia paste- it’s like a lumpy porridge, if you were wondering. 

Today’s iteration of the bowl: {from left to right} crumbled homemade vegan banana bread, vegan cereal with granola clusters, and pumpkin seeds. Also featuring my Doctor Who mug and Fuji Apple.

A chopped Fuji Apple and maple cereal.


Pineapple, the same maple cereal, and coconut yogurt. 

I hope this served as some inspiration for vegans and non vegans alike:) it’s never a bad thing to incorporate something like chia once or twice into your breakfast routine, especially once you realize the benefits of eating chia(calcium, protein, fiber…etc) and the ease of just tossing stuff into a bowl. I personally consider it the leftover bowl, where I add all of the stuff I didn’t use from another day. 

Talk to Me

