#30daysofthanks Day 1 &2

d32198596664cb6215217d3027cb4ce8
Pumpkins courtesy of Pinterest

Hi everyone! I have been gone, and there is really no excuse for that. But does it make it better if I say that I have had a lot of homework and exams? And what is weirder – the last time I posted I am positive that I was not in classes yet. And here we are. The day after Day of the Dead.

I figured that an easier way to get back into the groove of writing would be to focus on solely that. Writing, minus the fashion, style, and vegan life. I was thinking of how to do this for the past week and a half, and then I saw this post on Facebook, where someone had hashtagged #30daysofthanks, and posted a picture along with it. I thought it was so sweet and a good idea, since sometimes too much homework and stress from classes leaves us jaded and without any time to realize that there is much to still be happy about.

I for one always have a strange reaction every time I come home for the holidays. For the first two days I am still trying to forget about the exams I have to go through to pay my dues before being able to lay back and celebrate and get back to my usual routine at home.

So this year I have decided to change that. In order to remind myself that there is much to be happy about and that not everything is stressful and grey and exhausting (I could write a book about the stress of exams and fill it with anecdotes…) I have decided to join in on this hashtag trend, although I will spare my friends the newsfeed spam and post here exclusively.

I am well aware that I am a day late, so today I will mention TWO things that made me thankful or reminded me of what I should be grateful for. So let us embark on this journey of pumpkins, lattes, and the joy that is everything autumnal!!! Follow me friends! *throws the single orange leaf that has fallen to the ground in Texas*

November 1st, 2016 aka the first day of Christmas according to Starbucks

Lattes. All of them. Chai lattes specifically.

Before you judge me for picking a material item hear me out!

I have a tendency to say that I will do a lot of things and then not go through with them. And I am bored of that, because it leads to me complaining about being stuck in a rut, when my actions – or lack of- are what has me sitting there. I used to depend on other people to feel like I was having fun or doing something worthwhile. Ex: asking friends to study together to make myself do it or to go to Starbucks because I wasn’t capable of going alone.

Recently, I had this ridiculous craving for a chai latte. And I was thinking, if only I had a friend who would go with me! I cannot possibly go downtown and find one! I guess I’ll sit around in my bedroom. 

I honestly don’t know what urged me out of bed. Maybe it was that the craving was that bad. Maybe I remembered that I had gotten a paycheck recently so I was feeling giddy and reckless. But it was probably that I realized that if I wasn’t brave enough to do it alone today, tomorrow I would be in the same rut, but in a  different situation. And the idea of being in a rut permanently or even long term scares me.

So I went out, got on the public metro (yay eco friendly transportation options!) and went downtown to a coffee shop I found on Yelp, and sat there proudly drinking my almond chai latte for as long as I could, using baby sips that you would normally a little girl using at a tea party.

And good news! I’m sipping my second chai latte at the same spot right now. Hooray for leaving comfort zones and exploring downtown! I am thankful for this latte for helping me realize that I am capable of going out and doing something about my boredom instead of simply complaining about it. My destiny is in my hands! – Mwah ha ha ha ha –

November 2nd, 2016

And now we are at the present! Today I am thankful for the slightly cooler weather. It got me in the mood to write this post and indirectly dragged me out of the creative darkness I was in. I would say family, for calling and messaging me, but that would be unfair to dedicate only one day to them, when I could in theory write about them for thirty days of thanks as well, and many more. So leaving my family out of this, I am thankful for this blog. Because it feel like home, in a way. And I have a lot of ideas I am still trying to get out on this little spot.

I was thinking recently- and I even dropped the idea in a conversation with a friend a few minutes ago- that I would really like to compile the short stories I write and maybe add some simple illustrations to them too. I am not an artist in any way, but I think the stories would make more sense and look more complete with something else there with them.

It is still a very, very rough idea though. But it was brought back to the forefront of my mind because of this blog! I initially had this idea a few years back in high school. Although then it was supposed to be entirely fiction, I feel like I have enough anecdotes on my own to suffice, mixed with some creative liberty.

I will cut myself off here, because I am too excited to write again and share with you all and I don’t want to exhaust my writing, and I fear I’m word vomiting.

But to recap, yes! I am back. Tell your friends.

Talk to Me

